I joined Facebook relatively late, in December 2011, because it was semi-mandatory for me at the time (I’m looking at you, Dumppi). I didn’t see true value in the platform before that, and frankly, even during these three years I hardly used it besides the groups-feature (that I originally joined FB for). Following brands’ pages would have been convenient, but as we all know, only a tiny percent of users actually see companies’ updates, whether sponsored or not. Throw in the mix the continuously piling issues of Facebook’s notorious spying behaviour, and for me the platform became just repulsive. For more info on how Facebook stomps on your privacy, check this must-read article “Get Your Loved Ones Off Facebook” by Salim Virani.

So this month the long-awaited opportunity finally rose for me (i.e. all responsibilities for different groups & associations were over) to delete my account. Turns out Facebook doesn’t want to let you go easily.

From your Security settings, you only get presented with the option to deactivate your account. This is not the same thing as deleting your account.

I couldn’t find a direct link to deleting my account from anywhere, so I head out Help section. Simple search “delete account” luckily brought relevant results, but oh boy, the way they presented that information:

In that wall of text you’ll see two links. First “download a copy of your info” leads you to a page where you can request the backup from all the data you’ve shared on Facebook. It took me about 10 minutes to get the email including the download link for my data backup, but then again my data was under 10 Mb in size. So if you’ve used Facebook extensively, that delay between request and actually obtaining the backup might be a lot longer.

The second link, that just reads “let us know“, is the actual account deletion link. Can you believe that? “LET US KNOW.” Not exactly the first thing one would be looking for.

THE ACTUAL LINK THAT YOU’RE LOOKING FOR IS
WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/HELP/DELETE_ACCOUNT!

Just to add an extra step to the already cumbersome process, you will have to input your password again and click cat pictures.

And then finally:

Image7

Congrats, you are free! Facebook gives you 14 days to repent and come back to the platform, but I advice strongly against that.

Thank gods there’s still Twitter.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “How to Delete a Facebook Account – It’s Harder than You Think!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s